top of page

"Prayer"

May 12, 2024

Dog-2




"Prayer" — Daniel Kahn

[Bulat Okudzhava tribute.]



As long as the world keeps turning, Lord,

as long as the sun shines bright,

give each according to their need,

each who dwell in Thy sight.


A mind unto the wise one,

unto the cravenous deed,

give gold to those in fortune,

but leave me not in my need.


As long as the world keeps turning,

oh Lord the Power Divine.

So let those who only thirst for might

drink their fill of power like wine.


Give working people the time to rest.

Let Cain bemoan his deed.

But before the evening sun does set,

oh leave me not in my need.


I know Thou doest as Thou wilt.

I know Thy wisdom is true.

As the slaughtered soldier knows he lies,

up in the Heavenly blue.


As every open ear does know

Thy silent word is true.

As we all do know our faith in Thee

though we know not what we do.


Oh Father, King, oh Lord of mine,

with Thy shining emerald eyes.

As long as the world keeps turning, 

and grows old but never grows wise.


As long as there is time to spend,

and fire enough to burn,

give some to each within Thy sight

but leave me not in my turn.


 

*The Original



Monument to Bulat Okudzhava in Arbat Street, Moscow.
 

Bułat Okudzhava (Biographical Sketch)


Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Featured Posts
bottom of page