top of page

Character Studies

July 19, 2020

Dog-2




All of God creations, whether a person, flower, animal or landscape radiates a unique light and energy. It’s a big joy to capture it in drawing and painting (or art) with the greatest sensitivity.

Creating the portrait mostly in watercolor as a representation of reality, I tried to convey a subtle expression that the photograph, which I often use as a reference in my work, just can’t capture (or express) the same way.


It’s a fascinating study, expression, because it's created by moods of all types. The ability to observe and represent the nuances of expression are as essential as design, composition, shape, value, color, light, shadow and technique.

I always begin with one or more initial sketches that help to choose the typical (or most characteristic) appearance of my model/object. And then the joy of painting happens.


~ Dog-2


 



Featured Posts
bottom of page