top of page

Bobby McFerrin does "The Wizard of Oz"

October 21, 2017

Dog-1




"THE WIZARD OF OZ"

by the brilliant Bobby McFerrin.


This is really special. I hadn't seen this before. It came across the feeds today and was just perfectly timed; I needed this nostalgic, melodic departure today. I remember Bobby McFerrin from the 80s, but I didn't know he was this talented. It's very magical. Watch the audience, especially; everyone of a certain age remembers the power of this.


It started me on a wee quest down the yellow brick road of my own memory. I guess it's hard for those under, oh, about 50, to understand the significance of "The Wizard of Oz" on our collective young psyches. And it was strategized as a yearly "event"; something we all looked forward to as a family ritual. It was a huuuuge thing to watch "The Wizard of Oz" each year. I waited in such anticipation that I obsessed just on the commercials the week before the airings. So I went on a quest today to find a reasonable facsimile of a commercial that aired in the week prior to the annual telecast. This was one was circa 1980. (Notice, also, the extremely degraded condition of the television print used each year, as the commercial demonstrates, until digital reconstruction from the original film masters reversed the damage and preserved the stunning color quality of the original film.)


And, as one does on YouTube, I went tangential and found some really funny take-offs on "The Wizard of Oz". Some really funny stuff.


"Mad TV" parody. VERY funny.


One of my very favorites. LMAO!

How "The Wizard of Oz" Should Have Ended https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=munbt8qpCiQ


"MadTV" - "The Wizard of Oz" (Alternate Ending)


This one is wrong on so many levels -- and completely hysterical.

"Mad TV" - Wizard of Oz Lost Scene


Commercial: Energizer Bunny Batteries, Wizard of OZ Witch 1993 TV Advertisement


And a modern twist:

Avengers of Oz: Age of Tin Man https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LeZ_F1op9N8



 

Featured Posts
bottom of page